What Do I Charge? (Long)

Decorating By river425 Updated 22 Dec 2009 , 11:45pm by masturbaker

river425 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
river425 Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 8:55pm
post #1 of 19

First off, let me say I am not a professional by any means. I started cake decorating about 2 months ago and have just started making my own cakes about a month ago, all for fun, and had no intention of selling anything. But last week I was selling some games to a lady off of CL and we started talking about Christmas, etc, and I mentioned I'd just gotten a KA stand mixer because I was getting interested in baking. She mentions that she hates baking and is awful at it, and would I bake her a cake for Christmas? She'll compensate me, of course. I thought, sure, why not, I like baking and it'll give me practice. Well, that one cake turned into 3 different kind of cakes (not tiered or anything, just regular cakes) and 2 different kind of cookies, 3 dozen each! I was kind of into it, thinking it would be great practice, if a bit time consuming.

Then I went shopping for the ingredients. We never actually discussed how much these cakes would cost her or anything, and I certainly didn't realize how much it would cost to make this stuff. Around $65-70 for all the ingredients, and that's not including the cake boxes I have to get to deliver them! Now I'm pretty sure she wasn't wanting to pay $85 for these cakes (the extra $15-20 would cover the hours I would spend baking these) so what do I do? I've already bought everything and I have to deliver them tomorrow. How much do I charge her?

18 replies
Mensch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Mensch Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 8:57pm
post #2 of 19

And it never crossed your mind to discuss the price BEFORE accepting the order?

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 21 Dec 2009 , 9:02pm
post #3 of 19

Can you even legally sell cakes and cookies? Are you licensed/inspected/insured?