Rum Balls With Cake - How Long?

Decorating By Elise87 Updated 21 Dec 2009 , 12:49am by Elise87

Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 19 Dec 2009 , 11:34pm
post #1 of 10

So i have a recipe for rumballs here:

* 2 1/2 cups Madeira cake crumbs (approximately 280g)
* 1/4 cup baking cocoa
* 1/2 cup Carnation light & creamy evaporated milk
* 1 tablespoon rum (or more)
* 1/2 cup chocolate sprinkles

and it says that it can be made and stored in the fridge up to 2 weeks ahead but i read on here that cake balls (which i am counting as similar cose they both have cake in them) uncovered (i guess not covered in chocolate) will only last a few days but not sure if that was for in the fridge or if left out.

Around which time should i go by? I havn't made this cake kind of rumball before and want to make these today for christmas day so i am looking for them to be in the fridge for 1 week.

Also is there something in the recipe that preserves the cake crumbs better than if you just left a cake in the fridge?

9 replies
Elise87 Posted 20 Dec 2009 , 1:46am
post #2 of 10

any help? I am just about to start them but don't want them to be dry or not good by christmas

Doug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Doug Posted 20 Dec 2009 , 2:34am
post #3 of 10

store in a good tight TIN (you know those round metal things they sell stale cookies and nuts in) helps to line tin with wax paper or parchment. -- that way can also get several layers in there. OH, and my family rolls them in powdered sugar for "goo"d measure --- makes it's own icing.

and in the fridge too.

they will last ---- oh about "that" long

"that" being dependent upon how often "well, just one won't hurt" happens.