How To Utilize Facebook As An Advertising Tool....

Lounge By masturbaker Updated 16 Jan 2010 , 12:53am by nj4tj

masturbaker Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
masturbaker Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 9:23am
post #1 of 39

SO far I've stayed away from the myspace and facebook cults! But after reading so much about it on here I went and opened up a page on facebook. I am completely new to the facebook scene and was wondering if any of you could tell me how you use it as a means to get your name out there... I'm not necessarily looking to "advertise" on facebook, but I just want people to know I do cakes and to see my work and to know how to contact me.....

Do you just add random people? And what do you write about yourself? Do you put your price points and all that or do you just put pictures of your cakes?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

38 replies
3GCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
3GCakes Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 11:05am
post #2 of 39

Most places I've seen do not put pricing info on their Facebook page, or go much further than simply talking about their work. Some of my friends have a page, try looking at Cotillion Events (Ohio/Kentucky area)-- or even Ron Ben-Israel ....both have Facebook pages.

Mainly it is to showcase pictures, provide updates about events and let people talk about your work. If you have a webpage, you can advertise it there and then that is how they can get any pricing info on your product. Facebook is more for networking socially about your business, but not really for giving out all the info for the business. That's what your personal website would be for.

Of course people can always contact you on Facebook and ask about pricing, and you can start a conversation privately or direct them to your website.

HTH!

SugarNSpiceDiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarNSpiceDiva Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 11:14am
post #3 of 39