"required" Cake Decorating Techniques

Decorating By AmandaLP Updated 16 Dec 2009 , 8:19pm by cakedout

AmandaLP Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
AmandaLP Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 4:31am
post #1 of 10

One of my new years resolutions is to bake at least two cakes per month, and learn a new decorating technique for each of them.

So, what are the things that you find yourself using constantly? flowers, fondant things, bows, colors, etc?

I have taken Wilton class 1, and might go back for class three or fondant and gumpaste. I also want to start doing stacked cakes and tiers and a topsy turvy one in a few months icon_smile.gif

So, ideas?

9 replies
SugarNSpiceDiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarNSpiceDiva Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 6:56am
post #2 of 10

Well, I'm still learning, but maybe some good things to start with are:

1. Buttercream!!: If you plan to sell them or if you want the REALLY professional look, you gotta get it smooth. Like crazy smooth. If you don't know how to do that, you should look up the Viva towel method and the Melvira method. I've tried the Viva towel method. Works pretty good, but I've heard the Melvira method is better. I'll be trying that on my next bc cake!

2. Torting and Filling: There's a lot of things that can go wrong here.

3. Stacking for tiered cakes

4. Baking the cakes: I haven't had much problems with this, but honestly I've read so much about it here on CC before I encountered these potential problems. lol.

5. If you plan to do fondant, there's plenty of info on here on how to get it "just right."

6. Piping: This is something I'm still perfecting, but from what I understand, its a VERY useful skill. You'll need it a lot!

Well I hope this helps a little. Good luck!

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 16 Dec 2009 , 11:13am
post #3 of 10