I Need Some Advice About Giving Away Free Cakes To Advertise

Business By masturbaker Updated 16 Dec 2009 , 6:50pm by LaBellaFlor

masturbaker Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 7:04am
post #1 of 16

Hello all!

So, I'm relatively new to the cake biz.. (thank god for those Ohio cottage food laws!) And so far I've only done cakes for friends, family and a few others. I'm REALLY trying to get my name out there and have gotten some wonderful ideas from the forum here. I do have a question about a specific advertising tactic though...

I've talked to a few people on here who have mentioned making a simple but eye catching sheet cake for buisnesses, nursing homes, teachers lounges, etc... I guess they deliver a cake to these places with some buisness cards.

This sounds like a great idea to me.. and very personal too. But my question is in what kinds of places would this be appropriate? Surely, I can't just walk into a school and drop a cake off in the teachers lounge? lol, wouldn't that be awkward?
Also, someone mentioned other businesses as well... but again, what types of places could I just show up with a cake and not be looked at like I was crazy!
I specialize in cakes with all (or mostly) organic ingredients... what could I do with that?

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated! Thanks

15 replies
CakeForte Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 7:22am
post #2 of 16

Honestly...I've found that that tactic works better when it's highly targeted. For example, to hotels, wedding planners, birthday party places, caterers.

Those are the people that come into contact with potential clients on a regular basis and will spread the word. However YOU have to maintain the relationship. Get to know them, find out about their businesses, get to know them.

Just dropping a cake off might just result in a lot of free cake given away with nothing that comes from it.

kelleym Posted 14 Dec 2009 , 3:52pm
post #3 of 16

I found that giving people free cake only makes them want more free cake.