Canned Frosting And Fondant?

Decorating By laura4795 Updated 10 Dec 2009 , 12:06pm by grandmaruth

laura4795 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
laura4795 Posted 10 Dec 2009 , 4:21am
post #1 of 7

I recently read that using canned frosting is a no-no when making a fondant covered cake. The author said that homemade buttercream is the only thing you should use when using this method.

Why is that? I'm new to cake decorating, so I still have a lot to learn. I've made two different fondant covered cakes using canned frosting. They turned out fine, but maybe there is something I'm missing?

Maybe it's because they were simple cakes. They were stacked round tiers. I've attached a picture of one of them.

The main reason I've been using canned frosting is that it is less time consuming. I'm still really slow at this cake thing. Making buttercream just seems like one more thing to do. Any thoughts on canned frosting for this newbie?
LL

6 replies
sammie192 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sammie192 Posted 10 Dec 2009 , 4:45am
post #2 of 7

laura4795 your cake looks very nice! as for the can frosting I am glad it worked so when I don't have time to make frosting I can use it in pinch. sammie192

laura4795 Posted 10 Dec 2009 , 4:50am
post #3 of 7

Thanks! I'm curious to know what is supposed to go wrong when using canned? Is it harder to cover with the fondant?

Fondant still stresses me out. I make a lot of mistakes. Maybe that's because I'm using canned and not buttercream to crumb coat?

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 10 Dec 2009 , 5:00am
post #4 of 7

I don't use canned frosting because I like to cover my cake after the buttercream has crusted. Canned frosting will never crust. The nice thing about crusting buttercream is that you can get it really smooth, and you can pull the fondant off and start over if it has a problem, without the buttercream coming off or the cake coming apart.