A Sturdy Modeling Chocolate?

Baking By webshaun Updated 11 Dec 2009 , 5:16am by Sugarflowers

webshaun Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 2:51am
post #1 of 15

Hi all! I am very new to cake decorating. I have been looking up answers to my question but have not found anything that has worked for me.

I am trying to create modeling chocolate that is very sturdy and pliable. So far, I have almost succeeded with this, but when I roll out the chocolate and attempt to roll it in like a tube, it breaks apart. How can I fix this? Do I add more corn syrup? Please help me!

Thanks,

S.

14 replies
webshaun Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 3:03am
post #2 of 15

Alright, scratch that. I have discovered that my current modeling chocolate (prepared with 200g semi-sweet chocolate and 4tbsp corn syrup) dries waaaay too hard.

So my question now: what is the BEST method for creating a modeling chocolate or fondant that can be rolled out very thin but still maintain its integrity and shape when it is wrapped around small cylindrical fillings? I hope this makes sense...

S.

Sugarflowers Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 4:36am
post #3 of 15

I have a recipe that I call Chocolate Leather: http://cakecentral.com/recipes/6383/chocolate-leather

It has only two ingredients sets up well and is very easy to use. A friend uses equal parts leather and fondant to give it a little more body. I haven't tried it, but she's a fantastic decorator, so I fully support the idea.

HTH

Michele

Icing2009 Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 5:24am
post #4 of 15

I use a bag of choc melts or a reg size bag of milk choc chips and melt them then add a 1/3 cup corn syrup. This has to sit over night and I tried doubling the recipe but it didn't turn out, so try this, you have to keep refrigerating it while working with it or it gets soft. It does real well rolling out. Let me know how it goes!

ljdills Posted 9 Dec 2009 , 5:51am
post #5 of 15

Icing2009 does your recipe dry hard? I am looking for a recipe to use to make figures and deer antlers. Would this work?