Hi, Newb Here.

Decorating By darrell_lau Updated 8 Dec 2009 , 3:36am by chefjess819

darrell_lau Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
darrell_lau Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:39am
post #1 of 11

i've been thinking about making a cake for my girlfriend, but I'm fairly new at this (I'm only 18 ).

I want to make a cake in the shape of the black character in this picture:

Can anyone give me some tips in making black fondant(or where I could find some), and how I would be able to paint on it? Thanks!

10 replies
tanyascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tanyascakes Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:45am
post #2 of 11

The only tip I can give is to start with chocolate fondant so you won't need to add much black color, use Americolor black for best coverage, or order black Satin Ice fondant! Good luck with it! My daughter loves this character, too! Oh, and welcome to CC!!!! Hope to see your amazing work!

darrell_lau Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:48am
post #3 of 11

Lol thanks for the welcome!. I'm really nervous about doing this cuz I'm a total perfectionist. Would grocery stores sell black fondant? I'm not sure if there are any specialty stores around where I live

tanyascakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tanyascakes Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 2:50am
post #4 of 11

Oh, sorry, I order it online! Just google it, or I think that global sugar art sells it online, too! HTH!!!

darrell_lau Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 3:08am
post #5 of 11

what about paint? I need to use a bit of gray to distinguish Adios's legs and whatnot

tannersmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tannersmom Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 3:16am
post #6 of 11

you can buy black fondant or make your own. I make black all the time. search recipes here on CC. HTH

chefjess819 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefjess819 Posted 7 Dec 2009 , 3:36am
post #7 of 11