New At This....would Like Some Help....please!

Decorating By regansmom Updated 5 Dec 2009 , 8:01am by madgeowens

regansmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
regansmom Posted 5 Dec 2009 , 2:48am
post #1 of 6

I am starting this cake thing from my home. I am new at this and was wondering if I could get some tips. Even though I support the top tiers with sticks and put the upper tiers on cardboard, my bottom still seems to start to collapse. What am I doing wrong? Also, you can always see the layers in my cake through the fondant/rbc. I think I put enough frosting under...any suggestions? Bubbles under the fondant/rbc...how do I get rid of them?

Also...I watch all those cake shows on TV and they are always throwing their cakes around...If I ever did that, they would Break in half!!! I use a box mix but still, my cakes are moist. Does anyone have a good cake recipe that is still good but a little more firm???

Thanks for the Help!!!

5 replies
aundrea Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
aundrea Posted 5 Dec 2009 , 2:58am
post #2 of 6

hello and welcome to CC!
you will get alot of tips from the pros here. i just wanted to welcome you and let you know you are very good hands!! you can also try and do a search under 'how do i'. there will be alot of helpful info there.
good luck and enjoy your new addiction!

all4cake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
all4cake Posted 5 Dec 2009 , 3:04am
post #3 of 6

Welcome to CC! I would head straight to the forums and do a search for each of your questions

http://cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-forums-search.html

Don't forget to check out the articles and tutorials...lots of info...

windemire Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
windemire Posted 5 Dec 2009 , 3:05am
post #4 of 6

Welcome! icon_smile.gif

Check out this thread; there are a ton of links on the first page that will answer most, if not all, of your current questions. http://www.cakecentral.com/cake-decorating-ftopict-605188-.html