Newbie Here: Chocolate Bc Or Brown Food Colouring?

Decorating By Pickulz Updated 4 Dec 2009 , 6:36pm by TexasSugar

Pickulz Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Pickulz Posted 4 Dec 2009 , 5:47pm
post #1 of 5

I wanted to make a brown/pink cake combo and figured I could either make a chocolate BC or colour my white BC brown? Right? I dont need a specific brown colour..but would like a dark brown.

I use Indydebi's BC recipe for my cakes...shud i just add some cocoa? Any idea how much.
Or shud I add some brown food colouring to the white BC i make?

4 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 4 Dec 2009 , 5:50pm
post #2 of 5

Hi, if the cake is not a chocolate cake, then I would add some brown food colouring to the bc. icon_smile.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 4 Dec 2009 , 6:05pm
post #3 of 5

It just depends if you want chocolate or not. I use Indydebi's recipe too and I usually add 3/4 cup cocoa powder to one batch, plus a little more liquid (I use amaretto but you could use a little extra milk instead). Different cocoa powders make different browns so if it's still too light then a tiny bit of brown color would work.

metria Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
metria Posted 4 Dec 2009 , 6:18pm
post #4 of 5

I'd go for chocolate. Every time I want brown, it's usually a dark brown color that I'm trying to achieve ... and that could take a lot of food coloring (especially if you're using Wilton brand gel). I'm assuming you want a rich/dark brown as well if it's combo'd with pink. My two cents.

TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 4 Dec 2009 , 6:36pm
post #5 of 5

I have trouble getting the brown color I want from brown colors, so if chocolate goes with my cake flavor then I make chocolate icing.