Sugarshack Dvds...buy.them!

Decorating By MrsNancyB1 Updated 7 Jan 2010 , 2:35pm by Uniqueask

MrsNancyB1 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MrsNancyB1 Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 4:39pm
post #1 of 31

I just finished up the Christmas Package cake that Sharon features in her Boxes and Bows DVD. I have NO prior experience with buttercream at all. I have never made a loopy bow before either. I followed along with the Buttercream DVD to get a smooth layer of icing on the cake. Then I watched the Flawless Fondant DVD for tips on how to make the cake board. And then I watched the Boxes and Bows DVD to decorate the package.

I've attached the end result. If this is my first attempt after following her instructions in her DVDs, I can only imagine how others will do. This is only my first attempt, so I still have miles to go before I reach the level of the Great Sharon. But I think I've started out in a pretty good place, thanks to the DVDs.

If you don't already have these DVDs, BUY.THEM!! They are becoming the single most best investment in cake decorating that I've made thus far.

Here's the cake:

Edited to add:Sharon's Christmas package cake doesn't have the loopy bow on it. I decided that I preferred the loopy bow, so I went ahead and tried to make it.
LL

30 replies
alvarezmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
alvarezmom Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 4:44pm
post #2 of 31

Very nice wk!!!

bobwonderbuns Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bobwonderbuns Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 4:50pm
post #3 of 31

Nice work Nancy!! Agreed, Sugarshack's DVDs are awesome!! icon_biggrin.gif If you look in my pix, I did an open lid Tiffany Box cake with no prior experience on how to do that technique. It turned out great!! By the way, your cake is beautiful!! icon_lol.gif

grandmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmom Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 5:29pm
post #4 of 31

Those DVDs are worth every penny and minute! That cake of yours looks great!

madgeowens Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile