How Can I Make "pearls" / Beads Easily?

Decorating By Roxybc Updated 4 Dec 2009 , 7:33am by rblee

Roxybc Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Roxybc Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 8:42pm
post #1 of 14

I'm looking for an easy way to make edible pearls. I'd like them to be about 3-4mm. I'm not very good at piping them with buttercream, and I've also tried making them out of meraingues (sp?) but they didn't turn out well either. I've just come accress this thing called a bead maker - has anyone used this before? The site doesn't list any instructions or ideas on how it is used, so I'm not sure if it can be used with fondant, or what. Does anyone else have any idea?

Another one I've found:

13 replies
tiggy2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tiggy2 Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 14

I have the blue one in a couple of different sizes and it works pretty well. I know I've seen a tutorial on it but I don't remember where. You might try youtube and see if it's there.

Roxybc Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:03pm
post #3 of 14

Thanks tiggy2 - what do you use to make your pearls? Can I use fondant in the blue one?

Uniqueask Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Uniqueask Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:05pm
post #4 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by tiggy2

I have the blue one in a couple of different sizes and it works pretty well. I know I've seen a tutorial on it but I don't remember where. You might try youtube and see if it's there.

I also have the blue ones in various sizes, I saw my tutorial's on sharon Zambito's video's.

But it is not hard to do, roll your fondant, like a snake, squeeze the mold open with one hand lay the fondant in the center, close the mold trim off all excess with an exacto knife, and repeat,

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:05pm
post #5 of 14

Seriously, I buy them. About $12-$15 for a kilo.

Uniqueask Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:07pm
post #6 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

Seriously, I buy them. About $12-$15 for a kilo.