Airbrushing Lots Of Parts.....

Decorating By Loucinda Updated 7 Dec 2009 , 7:01pm by Loucinda

Loucinda Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Loucinda Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 1:37pm
post #1 of 23

I am done making the gumpaste poinsettia bracts and centers.......a total of 1500 freaking pieces!!! I now have to airbrush them all - does anyone have any hints on how to go about doing so many at once??

I have a large piece of styrofoam - which is fine for the little ones, the big ones won't stand though (they are too heavy for the wires they are on - 28g.)

I am not good at "thinking outside the box" - so any help here would be appreciated. I will be starting this process here in the next couple of hours.

22 replies
TexasSugar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
TexasSugar Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 5:53pm
post #2 of 23

When I did mine I held each petal (where a glove) but I didn't have near as many pieces as you do. The thing I liked about holding them was that I could turn it to get all sides evenly.

I can't wait to see your cake!

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 6:52pm
post #3 of 23
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loucinda

I am done making the gumpaste poinsettia bracts and centers.......a total of 1500 freaking pieces!!! I now have to airbrush them all - does anyone have any hints on how to go about doing so many at once??

I have a large piece of styrofoam - which is fine for the little ones, the big ones won't stand though (they are too heavy for the wires they are on - 28g.)

I am not good at "thinking outside the box" - so any help here would be appreciated. I will be starting this process here in the next couple of hours.

icon_eek.gificon_eek.gif Can you please upload a picture of all these pieces? I can't wrap my brain around 1500 pieces of anything handmade. Wowza!

Loucinda Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:39pm
post #4 of 23