Colouring Ganache?

Decorating By Elise87 Updated 3 Dec 2009 , 2:42am by Elise87

Elise87 Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 9:52am
post #1 of 12

Can i add paste colouring to colour ganache?

For eg. can i add black to make the chocolate even darker?

11 replies
Meg147 Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 10:02am
post #2 of 12

I'm not an expert, but I imagine you can. If you wanted to make it another colour, I would use white choc. Never tried it myself, so dont quote me & stick around for a pro opinion.

Elise87 Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 10:52am
post #3 of 12

yeh was thinking it would be cool to colour white choc too

lngo Posted 2 Dec 2009 , 8:37pm
post #4 of 12

Using the gel colors can be hit or miss because the water in the coloring can seize the chocolate.

I've colored white ganache with candy colors because those are oil based. Had no problems whatsoever and got the color I needed. The gel colors work for SOME folks, but the oil-based colors WILL work for chocolate.

Elise87 Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 1:43am
post #5 of 12

oh damn. I'm not able to get any powdered or candy colours things to colour it so all i have is the gel's at the moment.

Does the quality of the chocolate effect whether the gel will work better or not?

Or do you think if i got a really dark chocolate to use that it would almost pass off as black? lol

Bunsen Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 1:57am
post #6 of 12

Since the cream has a high water content I think if you mix the colouring into the cream first that should prevent it reacting with the chocolate. Try a small batch first so you don't waste a lot of good chocolate!

Bunsen Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 1:59am
post #7 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Elise87

Or do you think if i got a really dark chocolate to use that it would almost pass off as black? lol

I tried ganache with a chocolate with high cocoa solid content (80% I think) and it was too bitter, very dark tho!

Elise87 Posted 3 Dec 2009 , 2:03am
post #8 of 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bunsen

Quote:
Originally Posted by Elise87