Cake Pricing

Decorating By fabray13 Updated 3 Dec 2009 , 12:28am by andlydle

fabray13 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
fabray13 Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 1:02am
post #1 of 15

hello. i am a newbie cake decorator and am unsure how to price my cakes. i usually make cakes for friends/family and only charge for supplies. i was asked to make a wedding cake next may and have no idea where to start, with regards to price. any suggestions? i spoke with a few bakers and they said they charge per slice. please help.

14 replies
leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 1:26am
post #2 of 15

Yes, it's standard to charge by the serving/slice.

Now that you're selling cakes, do you know if your state/city requires you to be licensed/inspected/insured?

fabray13 Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 2:55am
post #3 of 15

no i am not sure about all of that. i do know i need to check in to it though.

debster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debster Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 3:09am
post #4 of 15

I'm in Ohio near Cleveland and we work under the cottage law. Do not need to be licensed here. Call your bakeries and see what the going price is. I'm rural so it's hard to get over 2.50 per slice in my area.

sweet-thing Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweet-thing Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 3:14am
post #5 of 15

You are very lucky to live in Ohio. You can have a home bakery and you don't have to have a license. There are lot's of rules that you should definitely look into, of course. And you have to be licensed and inspected to do a lot of things that are temperature sensitive like cheesecakes, etc. but you can have business from home if it's allowed locally.

debster Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
debster Posted 30 Nov 2009 , 3:22am
post #6 of 15