I Need Lots Of Help And Advice!!

Business By LilReese Updated 3 Dec 2009 , 2:12pm by love2makecakes

LilReese Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LilReese Posted 28 Nov 2009 , 8:23pm
post #1 of 9

Hello, as I am new to CC, I am also new to the cake business. I realized my talent about a year ago and since then have been making cakes for ANYTHING POSSIBLE and taking pictures, etc. I would really LOVE to start a business, but it would obviously have to start out of my house. I live in New York (on Long Island) and have been finding it VERY VERY difficult to find all the information I need. I thought that posting this may help and ANY INFORMATION would be helpful and I am very thankful for it.

First off, what steps do I need to take in order to legitimatly run a business out of my house without getting caught/fined by IRS, Health Dept, etc????
I want to make sure because I don't want to start really advertising and everything and then get in trouble!!

Secondly, at the moment, I am unemployed. Have been for almost a year and this is probably why I finally had the time to realize my passion for cake decorating!! How will this cake business affect my unemployment??

Is there someone I can go meet with and get free advice about all of this?? I really want to start this... Thanks guys!!

8 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 28 Nov 2009 , 8:38pm
post #2 of 9

welcome to CC, the best resource for all things cake!

Quote:
Quote:

First off, what steps do I need to take in order to legitimatly run a business out of my house without getting caught/fined by IRS, Health Dept, etc????

At the top of the Business Forum is a "sticky" article with info on various states that license home kitchens. That's a good place to start. If you're running a business "legitimately", there's nothing to get "caught" doing. thumbs_up.gif