Help Me!!! Please!!!

Decorating By CakeyKerry Updated 29 Nov 2009 , 2:20pm by rainbow_kisses

CakeyKerry Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 11:41pm
post #1 of 14

Hi all, I'm a newbie and I'm kind of new to the cake making thing too, I desperately need someones help!!

I've just baked a Madeira cake - it's for a child's birthday party tomorrow afternoon (and it's 11:30pm here!). It's the first time I've made Madeira cake (I usually opt for choc mud cake). I've cut it in half to buttercream it and I'm not sure whether it's actually cooked properly - it kind of looks like a crumpet and seems a little greasy. it's a 6" and I baked it for roughly an hour and 5 minutes, before I took it out I checked it with a fork and no crumbs came out, though it did seem greasy.

Please could you take a look and tell me what you think - Im totally panicking!!! The little v shaped cut is from me, prodding it!

Thank you SO much for your help

Kerry x

13 replies
Caths_Cakes Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 11:56pm
post #2 of 14

im sorry , i can't offer help here . ive never seen this before . i'm sure someone else can jump in though. good luck x

-K8memphis Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 11:58pm
post #3 of 14

Well I'm no madeira expert by any means but a little tunneling never hurt anything--go for it--it's kinda late to redo it tonight.

Going forward for next time, give yourself 2 or 3 times as much time as you think you'll need just for instances like this.

You mighta measured something a wee bit off--how did it taste? The flavor I mean --the icing will mask the oilyness.

-K8memphis Posted 28 Nov 2009 , 12:01am
post #4 of 14

What I mean is the fact that you're new at this will also help mask any slight issues of oilyness too. icon_biggrin.gif

chefjess819 Posted 28 Nov 2009 , 12:10am
post #5 of 14