Cookie Cake Decorating

Baking By luv2bake6 Updated 3 Dec 2009 , 11:05pm by luv2bake6

luv2bake6 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
luv2bake6 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 8:47pm
post #1 of 21

I was asked to do cookie decorating during a party for 13-year old girls. I don't normally do this but the pay offer was something i couldn't refuse. (especially before the holidays and buying presents! icon_wink.gif )

So i decided to do chocolate chip cookie cakes because it's easier for me to prepare and big enough (8-inches) for girls that age to decorate.
My question is about the decorating and what i should plan. Should we use buttercream? Do i need to make a decorating bag for everyone? Do i prepare RI decos or plaques? I'm completely new to class giving.

I need for this to last an hour. Any advice or suggestion is appreciated.

20 replies
luv2bake6 Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 2:17am
post #2 of 21

Any suggestions are appreciated. I forgot to mention there will be about 30 girls at this party.

rosiecast Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
rosiecast Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 5:41am
post #3 of 21

Hi! I just did a little class with children, but mine were a lot younger- 5-6 years old. They did turkey cookies and deocrated them. What worked for me was having separate bags with different color icing for them to use. SO I had about 15 kids and I had 3 of each color icing: red, brown, orange and white.

JGMB Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JGMB Posted 29 Nov 2009 , 2:11pm
post #4 of 21

I did a cookie class for kids at my church this summer -- you'll have a blast!! My one hint is to fill the bags at home, make sure the frosting is pushed down tight, then put a rubber band around the end. That keeps the frosting from squirting up the wrong way and coming out the top of the bag. It prevents a lot of mess.