Get Started??

Decorating By LadyC88 Updated 10 Dec 2009 , 2:24pm by LadyC88

LadyC88 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 3:22pm
post #1 of 8

I'm very new to all this, but very enthusiastic and want to learn as much as I can about everything. I've got a few books and have made a few cakes and am basically learning through trial, error and tips I'm picking up along the way!

So, really, I'd love it if anyone could think back to how they got into cake baking and what really helped them learn. I'm planning on attending cake making courses etc but everything I know and do currently is from books. there just seems to be so much to learn and so much insiders tricks to discover, would someone let me know how they learnt the most and where from? Thank you! icon_smile.gif xxx

7 replies
Wiltonlady Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 3:46pm
post #2 of 8

Welcome To CC, LadyC88. You're about to become an addict.

I took the Wilton courses and I've learned everything else through CakeCentral, everyone here is very, very helpful.

sherrycanary62 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 4:00pm
post #3 of 8

Welcome to CC..this is a great site!!!

I live in a very rural area and so when cake decorating struck my fancy...classes were out of the question as the nearest was over 2 hours away.

I found tons of helpful videos on you tube and of course lots of help here on CC. Also SugarTeachers has some awesome how to videos. There are also paid membership sites you can join...they have been helpful to me as well and worth the cost for me.

My interest in cake decorating came after watching The Food Network Challenge and thinking..."that aint so hard"...HA!!! so much more to it than one would think...but I have loved the learning journey every step of the If I could just figure out how to fund the addiction icon_biggrin.gif

msulli10 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 4:06pm
post #4 of 8

I, too, took all the Wilton courses and learned everything else from CC and tv shows!

laurs_1981 Posted 28 Nov 2009 , 4:03am
post #5 of 8