What Percentage Should A Business I Rent From Get Of My Sale

Business By steddy1974 Updated 29 Nov 2009 , 3:34am by steddy1974

steddy1974 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:16am
post #1 of 12

I am renting space in another businesses kitchen. They sell pre-made meals and also offer clients the option to come in and package their own meals.

Well they said I can sell my baked items in their store and sell them as well, but I want to know if I should give a percentage of my sales to the owner of the store and if so how much?

He lets me bake for free and I teach a few kids classes for him, but still get paid a percentage for the classes, so it is a really good deal. So I want to be fair but also not cheat myself.

Thanks!

11 replies
Lita829 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:33am
post #2 of 12

I'm happy that you posted this question! Right now I am primarily a hobbyist but I'm about to look into renting space in a commercial kitchen and I was wondering how we'd financially work out that situation if she was to decide to sell any of my baked goods in her cafe. Its all in its infancy for me but I'm curious and in need of direction in the same way that you are so I'll see how other CCer's who have made that leap handled that.

Like you, I want to be fair but not cheat myself.

indydebi Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 2:49am
post #3 of 12

I can't tell by your post ... did he ASK for a percentage of the baked goods sales? Or are you just trying to "be nice"?

If you're already paying rent, then that's the business deal/arrangement you have in place. You pay him $xx ..... you get to bake in his space. Unless you have some stipulation in your contract with him on a situation like this, I see no need to voluntarily give him a cut. That's not really how business is done.

Lita829 Posted 27 Nov 2009 , 3:07am
post #4 of 12