I Think I Screwed Up...:( Please Help!

Decorating By SugarNSpiceDiva Updated 24 Nov 2009 , 6:50pm by SugarNSpiceDiva

SugarNSpiceDiva Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SugarNSpiceDiva Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 9:08pm
post #1 of 14

Ok, I'm still new at alot of this stuff, so please bear with me. icon_redface.gif

So, I'm making some cake balls with liquor in them to take to my in laws for Thanksgiving. The actual cake part came out great.

I used red velvet cake with chocolate icing. They are supposed to be covered with white chocolate mixed with amaretto.

But the problem started with the amaretto. I melted the white chocolate in the microwave, then added the amaretto. But then it turned into a lumpy icing consistency. icon_sad.gif

Can someone PLZ help me?

First, is it possible to mix the liquor with the chocolate?
If it is, how do I do it?
Also, is there a way this messed up one can be salvaged or should I just take it as a loss and move on?

Ugh, it is so depressing when something screws up so badly. icon_cry.gif

13 replies
sweetpea1972 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sweetpea1972 Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 9:13pm
post #2 of 14

As far as I know you can't add liquor to chocolate...it seizes and is not fixable. If you get flavored candy oils that is OK. You could add some amaretto to the icing to get that flavor into the cake balls.

HTH

SugarNSpiceDiva Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 9:21pm
post #3 of 14

Thank you sweetpea!

Well crap. I already made the cake balls. Would it work if I dipped them into the amaretto, let them sit out to soak for a minute, then dipped em in chocolate?

kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 9:21pm
post #4 of 14

Any liquid will cause the chocolate to do what you describe icon_sad.gif
Candy Flavoring is the only way.
As for what is already messed up - you *might* be able to save it if you add enough new melted chocolate to it.

ladyellam Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile