A Few How To ?'s I Need To Know Asap, (Kind Of Long)

Decorating By yummy Updated 25 Nov 2009 , 1:17am by yummy

yummy Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
yummy Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 4:58pm
post #1 of 12

Hello everyone. I'm on my way to the cake supply store in a few hours and need answers before I go. Some cakes on this site has a wire spray sticking out of their loop bows. If you assemble the bow layer by layer, at what point do you add the wires? I'm thinking that's the only way to do it because you probably can't insert the wires into a straw or coffee stirrer and into the cake after the bow is made and placed on the cake; am I right or wrong please explain?

I'm also doing a snowflake cake and would like it to sparkle. It will be a colored background with fondant snowflake cutouts in white and silver dusted with super pearl and silver luster dust; I've never used any of the dusts before. My questions are: Since I'm dusting should I make light grey fondand for the silver? What's the best way to apply the dust (brushes...)? How does the dust stay on? After I dust the cutouts how long do I have to wait before placing on cake?

Now for the grand finale. icon_lol.gif Which dust will really make the finished cake sparkle/glisten? TIA!

11 replies
mmgiles Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mmgiles Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 5:06pm
post #2 of 12

Can you add a picture of the type of bow you're talking about?

I mix the luster dust with a bit of everclear (you can use vodka or lemon extract too) and make it like a paint and then I use a brush that I think is appropriate size based on the job needed. You can use just about any kind of brush but it needs to be new and only used for this purpose. Be careful when changing colors.

yummy Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 7:03pm
post #3 of 12