Hanging Diplomas In Shop?

Business By ccr03 Updated 24 Nov 2009 , 7:25pm by 11cupcakes

ccr03 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
ccr03 Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 2:47pm
post #1 of 17

My sister and I are STILL in the process of getting everything ready for the opening. (Boy, talk about it being a long process).

Well, we had the discuss yesterday if whether or not we should hang out college degrees up once it's open. I said yes - that way customers can see we are educated and serious/this is a real business. She said she didn't want to look like a show off.

Would you put up your college degrees in your cake shop?

(Oh, I majored in Communication & Spanish - her in Political Science & Spanish. Her business is party equipment rental & supplies.)

16 replies
juleebug Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
juleebug Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 2:54pm
post #2 of 17

Unless the degrees are directly related to the business, I would not put them in the shop.

leah_s Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
leah_s Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 2:56pm
post #3 of 17

I agree. definitely hang you degree from culinary/pastry school, or any certificates from classes you've completed that relate to baking/decorating. I don't think your diplomas are showing off at all, just not relevant to your biz.

d_michelle95 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
d_michelle95 Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 6:21pm
post #4 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by juleebug

Unless the degrees are directly related to the business, I would not put them in the shop.

This...

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 23 Nov 2009 , 6:47pm
post #5 of 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by leah_s

I agree. definitely hang you degree from culinary/pastry school, or any certificates from classes you've completed that relate to baking/decorating. I don't think your diplomas are showing off at all, just not relevant to your biz.

I agree with hanging any pastry/culinary certificates out in the front.