Can I Make A Cake Any Uglier?

Decorating By JuneBugBaby Updated 12 Dec 2009 , 2:20am by JenniferMI

JuneBugBaby Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JuneBugBaby Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 8:42pm
post #1 of 35

I am new to the cake world, I've made cakes in a square pan and just did the tub of icing on it and put a few candles but a lady down the road makes awesome cakes and I thought to myself... I can do that! UM... NO... My first attempt I didn't realize I need more than one layer of the same size square or circle so I got this super thin bottom square with this little bitty top circle... it looked like a button on a square! thumbsdown.gif The second one I thought I had worked out what I was going to do, I went and bought two 8" x 3" pans and stacked them and that part worked out better but I made my icing too thin so it kinda fell off the side of the cake and then I made the top mix thicker but I couldn't get it smooth so I got this tall red circle cake that I cut out black and white fondant circles to put on and it looks like crap. I am so disappointed in myself! I know it's only my second attempt but it sucks!! Does it get better? Or am I just not cut out for great looking cakes? icon_sad.gif

34 replies
KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 8:53pm
post #2 of 35

Just like anything else, practice makes perfect. You learned from your "too short cake" experience and made a taller one. You also learned how to make icing that is too thin, so now you have to make it thicker. Don't give up, just keep trying different things out. Here's a comforting thought, it can only get better from here! icon_biggrin.gif

BlakesCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
BlakesCakes Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 8:55pm
post #3 of 35

I'd strongly suggest buying a Wilton 2010 Yearbook, Wilton Celebrate With Fondant, and/or some of the Wilton Course 1,2,3,4 books. Most, if not all, of these can be found online or at JoAnn or Michael's.