Can't Get My Icing Smooth

Decorating By JuneBugBaby Updated 24 Nov 2009 , 6:36pm by sweethaven09

JuneBugBaby Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 11

I am new to the cake making world. Other than boxed cake I've never done a cake making anything fancy. My first cake was a flop. I didn't realize you needed layers! haha.. so it looked like a thin square with a small circle on top! haha... This second time I used 2 3"x8" pans and stacking them looked MUCH better than my thin little cake before but when I went to put my icing on I couldn't get it smooth no matter what I did. I tried the paper towel thing, I tried going around and around with the spatula still couldn't get it smooth. HELP! What can I do? I don't really want to cover the entire cake in fondant, is that the only way to get it smooth? icon_sad.gif

10 replies
tonedna Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 4:25pm
post #2 of 11

Here is how I do it.
Hope it helps..It takes practice!

Edna icon_biggrin.gif

MissyTex Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 5:00pm
post #3 of 11

Also if your icing is too thick, it won't go on smoothly. I thin my BC with milk until I get the consistency I want.

sherrycanary62 Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 5:13pm
post #4 of 11

I am still working out consistency issues with buttercream....I found this video tutorial....it really helped me alot.

sherrycanary62 Posted 22 Nov 2009 , 5:18pm
post #5 of 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by tonedna

Here is how I do it.

Edna icon_biggrin.gif