Is There An Article Bashing Home Bakeries Or Something??????

Business By Michele01 Updated 24 Nov 2009 , 9:34am by JanH

Michele01 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Michele01 Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 8:32pm
post #1 of 220

I don't know what is going on lately with brides. I have had my licensed home bakery for 2 years now. No one has ever had a problem with my establishment, and they are usually quite pleased when they see my set up. I have pretty much booked every consultation that I have had. I know that is not realistic, but in the past two months things have changed. I have had two no shows after they found out I was a a licensed home baker. Have had people show up and tell me that they had to be honest, but they were leary about coming to someone's home. They all end up saying they were impressed with my work, and felt better about it though. Only to go home and not book. Then send an email saying they are going with another vendor, but will refer me to their friends who are getting married. Why say something like that? Your friends aren't going to order from the person you didn't order from. Then I have customers email me, ask for a quote, and request a consultation, only to ignore me after I tell them it's in my home. I don't get it. Is there an article in a bride magazine saying not to order from us, or are big bakeries bashing us with the economy? Or....maybe people are just going with the cheapest decorator. I do a thorough cleaning everytime I have consultations, so I know it's not that. I am just getting really agravated. icon_mad.gif

219 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 8:45pm
post #2 of 220

one of the "Ten Questions to ask your (any weddingvendor)", is "are you licensed and insured?" Then usually a short discussion on legal home bakers vs. storefront bakers.