Frozen Cake....when To Take It Out Of Freezer??

Decorating By tootsa Updated 20 Nov 2009 , 1:14pm by tootsa

tootsa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
tootsa Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 1:12am
post #1 of 5

I have some cakes frozen that I need to decorate (tomorrow). When do I remove them from the freezer? Am I already too late?? icon_surprised.gif

Also, do I leave the plastic and foil on or take them off?

Thanks for your help! icon_biggrin.gif

4 replies
cabecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cabecakes Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 2:52am
post #2 of 5

That would depend on what time you need to decorate tomorrow. If you are decorating them in the afternoon, I would take them out in the morning and unwrap to prevent the condensation inside the wrapper from soaking into the cake. If you need to decorate in the morning, I would take it out this evening. I am by no means an expert, that is just what I would do. I have some in the freezer for early Saturday afternoon, and I plan on taking mine out early tomorrow afternoon for decorating tomorrow evening.

*editted to add- after the cakes are thawed you may want to rewrap to keep them from getting dried out. Not a problem though if you are planning on putting on your icing or fondant.

jenng1482 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenng1482 Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 3:11am
post #3 of 5

Leave your cakes wrapped while they thaw out! Condensation forms as the temperature changes. The condensation will form on the wrapping instead of on your cake. When i need to decorate in the evening - i take out over lunch break, when i decorate in the morning- take out before bed.

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 20 Nov 2009 , 3:43am
post #4 of 5