Urgent, Urgent, Need Answer In Next 30 Mins.

Decorating By Makeitmemorable Updated 21 Nov 2009 , 3:03am by lthiele

Makeitmemorable Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:10pm
post #1 of 18

Hi Everyone,

I have a lady coming today to collect a cake - it is a BC covered cake (I have never done buttercream before). It's a pumpkin cake. Question is - when I take it out of the fridge it 'sweats' icon_cry.gif - is this normal?? Can I prevent this? It is 41 degrees in Sydney today. My other question is, should I leave it in the fridge until she collects it or should I try and get it to room temp ? It has fondant accents on it as well.

Thanks in anticipation icon_smile.gif

17 replies
Ruth0209 Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:14pm
post #2 of 18

I've never had buttercream sweat, but I have had that problem with fondant. It's condensation that occurs from being taken out of the cold to the warmth.

I think I'd take it out and give it a chance for the condensation to evaporate. Is it arid there or humid? Maybe a fan on it?

Is it 41 C or 41 F? Sorry, most of us Americans don't know how to convert that to a temp we understand. I know, duh...

EDITED TO ADD: I just used a converter on the temp. It's 106 degrees F? Holy crap, no wonder it sweats when you take it out of the fridge. That is hot, hot, hot.

Texas_Rose Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:18pm
post #3 of 18

41 C is 105 F

I think I'd leave it in the fridge until she picks up, and tell her to put it in the fridge when she gets home. If you have air conditioning and it's cool in your house, you can take it out and let it come to room temp...but if it's hot and humid in your house, the buttercream will start falling off the cake if it gets too hot.

Ruth0209 Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:22pm
post #4 of 18

Looks like you have about 70% humidity. Maybe some CCers who live in humid climates can tell you how long it'll take for the sweating to go away.

ApplegumKitchen Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 9:32pm
post #5 of 18

Its going to get hotter today here in Sydney !!!