Is It O.k To....

Decorating By bafishr Updated 20 Nov 2009 , 2:18am by bafishr

bafishr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bafishr Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:25pm
post #1 of 26

attach ribbon on a cake board with hot glue icon_redface.gif ? I'm not sure about the non-edible issue of hot glue. Although, it won't be touching the cake.
Thanks to all of you experienced decorators.

25 replies
bashini Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bashini Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:27pm
post #2 of 26

HI there, I use double sided sticky tape to attach the ribbons to the cake board. Never used hot glue.

bafishr Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:32pm
post #3 of 26

Thanks, bashini icon_biggrin.gif

Texas_Rose Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Texas_Rose Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:37pm
post #4 of 26

I use Tacky glue. Sometimes hot glue goes on kind of thick and lumpy...maybe that's because I'm not good at using it, but I think it might look messy under ribbon.

MikeRowesHunny Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
MikeRowesHunny Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:40pm
post #5 of 26

Pritt stick for me!

LaBellaFlor Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
LaBellaFlor Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:41pm
post #6 of 26

I've always pinned mine down. Quick & easy & it's not noticable, unless you sit there and actually try to find them.

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:42pm
post #7 of 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by bashini

HI there, I use double sided sticky tape to attach the ribbons to the cake board. Never used hot glue.

Ditto.

LaBellaFlor Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:45pm
post #8 of 26

What double sided tape are you guys using, cause all the ones that I have found just flat out suck. And double sided tape is not cheap, so thats a reall pi@@er offer for me.

FromScratch Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
FromScratch Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 2:46pm
post #9 of 26