Please Help..my Fondant Is Always Lumpy And Bumpy!

Decorating By justkist Updated 28 Nov 2009 , 4:14am by lilthorner

justkist Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
justkist Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 3:52am
post #1 of 12

I am quite new at this and have only taken the 4 Wilton courses and am fast learning that Wilton is not exactly what the pros do. So I am desperately calling on all pros (self-proclaimed and otherwise).

WHy is it that the BC under my fondant ALWAYS makes my fondant lumpy and bumpy? I look at cakes on here and they are so sleek and smooth that it looks like you iced a BRICK!! I am sooo jealous!

I thought it would help to put BARELY any BC but then it just doesnt taste as good. And when I watch videos and tv shows they all have TONS of delicious BC under their FLAWLESS fondant.

What am I doing wrong? I have used store bought icing and the Wilton class BC. Is there special BC for this?

11 replies
kakeladi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kakeladi Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 12:36pm
post #2 of 12

Just be sure your b'cream is lump free. No, they don't use TONS of b'creamicon_smile.gif Just a nice even coating.
Are you using a fondant smoother tool? I resisted getting them for a long time until I was given one and saw the difference it makes - totally different smoothness.
Are you kneading your fondant enough? Make sure it is smooth and not too thick or too thin.
Try SugarShack's b'cream. The recipe is on this site. and there are lots of threads discussing all fazes of using it.

khoudek Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
khoudek Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 10:40pm
post #3 of 12