Newbie Help! Ideas On How To Decorate A Ganash Covered Cake

Decorating By pankake Updated 19 Nov 2009 , 10:24am by pankake

pankake Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 1:40am
post #1 of 5

Hi there,

I am doing a cake for a friend for a birthday and originally she was going to have cupcakes, which was all fine. But now she wants a cake that is covered in ganash with teal and mauve incoroprated in it some how.
How do you think I could do it?
I am very new to cake decorating and want to do a simply, but nice design. As I am not getting paid for this cake I don't want to spend hours and hours trying to decorate it.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated, as I feel a bit lost at the moment. icon_eek.gif

4 replies
Jopalis Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 1:58am
post #2 of 5

In my pictures is a cake that I did for a neighbor...It is a huge ganache covered cake. I used chocolate transfer sheets for the sides. They come in many colors and patterns. You could also consider making modeling chocolate roses. You can make them with candy clay that uses Wilton candymelts or Merkens.... If you color yourself you will have to use candy color. It could be quite exquisite. Does she want brown or white chocolate?

pankake Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 5:08am
post #3 of 5

she wants brown ganash and unfortunately because I am in a small town in Australia I don't have access to the wilton products or candy melts. It was also a spare of the moment request and it is needed for the weekend.

I though about once it is ganashed decorating it with a boarding top and bottom with the mauve and/or teal and then doing a couple of flowers for the top, putting a big standing '60' on it (as requested) and pipe alternating mauve and teal tiny polka dots on the sides of the cake.

What do you think?

Jopalis Posted 19 Nov 2009 , 5:22am
post #4 of 5