Attaching Fondant Accents?

Decorating By SJEmom Updated 18 Nov 2009 , 3:48pm by icer101

SJEmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SJEmom Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 1:42am
post #1 of 10

Probably a really simple question with a totally logical answer...

For my daughter's birthday cake I was going to make a 2 layer 8" square cake and frost it with bright pink buttercream and then was going to add white fondant stars to give it an American Girl look for her Doll Fashion Tea Party. I have never worked with fondant before. I bought the Wilton Rolled Fondant in the box and I assume that I just roll it out and use the shape cutters to cut my shapes. Would I just attach with a little bit of buttercream? I am assuming that my buttercream might have crusted by the time I get to put the accents on, but I can work quickly and pre-cut my accents so that they can go on when the BC is still wet.

What is the best/easiest way? Anything else I should know? Thanks. icon_smile.gif

9 replies
sugarcheryl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarcheryl Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 1:47am
post #2 of 10

You can apply the fondant while the buttercream is still soft or you can attach it with a little buttercream or water.

wrightway777 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
wrightway777 Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 3:26am
post #3 of 10

I could write a book on your question but I dont want to scare you.

If you are covering the cake with fondant and then need fondant accents:
You can attach fondant cutouts to fondant by using a clear grain alcohol (vodka, gin, everclear). Why you may ask? B/c the alcohol dissipates and doesnt mess up the integrity of the fondant. Dont use Rum. Feel funny about that on a kids cake? Then use lemon extract as your fondant to fondant glue. Their is a world of different "glues" you can use but thats a different thesis.

If you are just adding fondant accents applied directly to the buttercream: