Tried Antonia 74 Icing For The First Time And....

Baking By pinkcupcake512 Updated 19 Nov 2009 , 8:37pm by TracyLH

pinkcupcake512 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkcupcake512 Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 10:32pm
post #1 of 15

Hello!

I have been decorating cookies for about 6 months and I really really enjoy it..I usually just do it for family and friends and they love my cookies..I have been decorating them with fondant and royal icing accents.
But last weekend, after seeing how beautiful ppl's cookies look when they use Antonia 74, I decided I give it a try...well..it was a disaster..
the icing had a lot of bubbles, even though I let it rest overnight.
The consistency I used was the same as Elmer's glue.

I don't know what I did wrong. But I know I did, because they looked really ugly and messy.

I would like to give this icing another try, but if anyone has any helpful hints or ideas they would like to share, it will be greatly appreciated.

14 replies
Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 12:04am
post #2 of 15

I use to get some bubbles too and all i can say is make sure that you are mixing the RI on the lowest speed for about 10 mins and don't use a whisk attachment unless u have nothing else cose that will also airate your RI to give you more bubbles.

When the bubbles come to the suface pop them and then slowly stir it again and this will help get rid of most of them.

I don't know what elmer's glue is lol but if u mean it's runny then by all means either just add more icing sugar till u reach the consistency u want. If u mean too thick just add water

Just in my experience, HTH

pinkcupcake512 Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 12:15am
post #3 of 15

Elise87

thank you for your response..but what is the right consistency?

Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 18 Nov 2009 , 12:25am
post #4 of 15