How Do I Use Gum Paste?

Decorating By CakesByAdriana Updated 16 Dec 2009 , 2:49pm by CakesByAdriana

CakesByAdriana Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
CakesByAdriana Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 4:19pm
post #1 of 16

I am a newbie to gum paste. Is it the same as fondant?
Are the same methods used?
Any helps and advise is greatly appriciated. I have 2 cakes to do for next week and I want to use gum paste instead of fondant.
I want to take a class but I figured everything else was self taught, how hard could it be? LOL icon_smile.gif

15 replies
dsilvest Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
dsilvest Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 4:44pm
post #2 of 16

Use fondant to cover your cake. It says soft and is edible. The gumpaste is fine for flowers, figures, and items that you want to dry quickly and hard.
Most people don't eat gumpaste.

KathysCC Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KathysCC Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 4:48pm
post #3 of 16

You would only want to use gumpaste if you wish your decorations to dry hard. It is mostly used for flowers. What kind of decorations will you be making?

For the most part you roll it out and use it like fondant. Gumpaste also has a stretchy texture which allows you to roll thin edges on leaves and flowers.

Because it dries quickly, always wrap the scraps or the pieces you aren't using very quickly or it can get a hard shell. I store leftover gumpaste wrapped in plastic and then in a ziplock bag to keep it from getting hard.

he_calls_me_angel Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
he_calls_me_angel Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 11:21pm
post #4 of 16

actually if you don't mind I'm going to throw a question in on top of yours, I used gumpaste once and my figures developed cracks in them...what did I do wrong?

KathysCC Posted 17 Nov 2009 , 11:48pm
post #5 of 16

I don't think I would make figures out of pure gumpaste. I think they probably would crack though I don't know why.

I make figures from fondant or a fondant/gumpaste mix.