Do You Prefer Ri Or Fondant For Large Batches Of Cookies?

Baking By mrsc808 Updated 6 Jan 2010 , 4:14pm by bobwonderbuns

indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 3 Jan 2010 , 7:26pm
post #31 of 53

I added another post with the links again on that thread ....

pinkchef1217 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
pinkchef1217 Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 7:28pm
post #32 of 53

Would marshmallow fondant work for this?? or is there another type of fondant that would work better?? Im new to this idea over RI. Does the fondant make it softer when biting into compared to RI being so hard. It just seems like the RI cookies are for looks and not taste and I want to make a cookie with BOTH!

After you put the fondant on the warm cookie does it harden enough to put them in the cellophane bags? If so about how long do you have to wait.
Thanks so much guys =]

makeminepink Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
makeminepink Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 8:12pm
post #33 of 53

Yes, marshmallow fondant works for this. That's what I use. It gets firm enough to bag very quickly. It's SO much easier than flooding with royal that I have a hard time wanting to ever do that again! It is softer to bite into. It's funny, I don't like the texture of fondant with cake-- the chewiness, but with a cookie-- I love it!

linedancer Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
linedancer Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 10:06pm
post #34 of 53

I'm with you,makeminepink, I don't care for fondant on cake, but really like it on cookies. I use MMF.

I enjoy the decorating part so much, I don't try to get it on while they are warm from the oven. I use thinned corn syrup to adhere it to the cookie. Then I decorate to my heart's content icon_biggrin.gif

iownajane Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
iownajane Posted 5 Jan 2010 , 10:27pm
post #35 of 53