Chocolate Cake Recipe For 10' Tiered Cake With Fondant?

Baking By chefshar Updated 1 Dec 2009 , 11:58pm by SandiOh

chefshar Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
chefshar Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 6:00am
post #1 of 10

What would be a good Chocolate cake recipe that would stand up well under fondant? I am just starting out and would love any and all tips etc...
Making a Gift box style cake with 2 tiers for a friends 75th birthday, and using fondant to decorate.

Thanks so much. icon_smile.gif
Sharlene

9 replies
brincess_b Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
brincess_b Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 8:49pm
post #2 of 10

scratch or mix?
scratch, i use a victoria sponge recpie.
mix, the wasc is very popular on here.
xx

__Jamie__ Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
__Jamie__ Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 8:52pm
post #3 of 10

Oh heck....this is perfect: the ONLY chocolate cake I'll ever have anything to do with. icon_biggrin.gif

http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Double-Chocolate-Layer-Cake-101275

Very dense, very sturdy!

Cakepro Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Cakepro Posted 16 Nov 2009 , 8:57pm
post #4 of 10

This is the one I use under fondant with excellent results, and it tastes amazing too:

\\http://cakecentral.com/recipes/7367/amazing-chocolate-wasc-cake

You'll have to copy and paste the link, and remove the slash at the beginning. This website jacks up posted links.

SandiOh Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
SandiOh Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 11:25pm
post #5 of 10

Jamie, I tried the epicurious chocolate recipe today. I made cupcakes out of it, replaced some of the sugar with brown sugar and added some Frangelico...it was great. thanks for the heads up on the recipe.

__Jamie__ Posted 1 Dec 2009 , 11:28pm
post #6 of 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by SandiOh

Jamie, I tried the epicurious chocolate recipe today. I made cupcakes out of it, replaced some of the sugar with brown sugar and added some Frangelico...it was great. thanks for the heads up on the recipe.