Cake Charging - New At This

Decorating By bubblecakes Updated 16 Nov 2009 , 11:28pm by bubblecakes

bubblecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bubblecakes Posted 15 Nov 2009 , 12:27am
post #1 of 14

Well, I have my first potential wedding cake order, I just need to give her a price. It's a very simple two tier (10'', 8'') chocolate mudcake, covered with fondant, with moulded sea shells and frangipani flowers on the edges (beach theme). I'm just a hobbyist, so I don't feel justified charging what a professional baker does.

The only other wedding cake I've ever made was for my brother, so I didn't charge, let alone pay attention to costs.

I'm thinking maybe $250AUD

Cheers in advance,

Laura

13 replies
indydebi Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
indydebi Posted 15 Nov 2009 , 12:37am
post #2 of 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubblecakes

It's a very simple two tier (10'', 8'') chocolate mudcake, covered with fondant, with moulded sea shells and frangipani flowers on the edges (beach theme).

icon_lol.gif What's the "simple" part of this cake? icon_lol.gif

bubblecakes Posted 15 Nov 2009 , 11:05am
post #3 of 14

I guess because there aren't lots of delicate gumpaste flowers or stripes in the fondant or anything.
I wish I could figure out how to put up the idea picture she sent me...Alas, 'tis not to be.

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 15 Nov 2009 , 12:44pm
post #4 of 14

I think Indy is just saying that while it might seem more simple, there is so much involved in making a cake that it's really not just a simple cake.

Unfortunately, we are both in the U.S. And I for one have no idea what a slice of cake sells for over there. I would just find out what the custom bakeries do charge over there and then come up with a price that you think is right.

Good luck!

Bluehue Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Bluehue Posted 15 Nov 2009 , 1:25pm
post #5 of 14