Cricut

Decorating By elastigirl Updated 16 Nov 2009 , 4:10am by elastigirl

elastigirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
elastigirl Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 5:36am
post #1 of 6

Hi, I am new to this. I used to decorate cakes years ago, but I see lots has changed. I have been reading up on a ton of stuff (an overwhelming amount). I have a cricut expression and have been reading some posts on gumpaste. I tried fondant rolled out and dried it for an hour prior to cutting. The result......a horrible disaster. Now I am left with the questions.... Can I use fondant or do i NEED to add tylose? How thin do I roll it? I do not own a pasta maker, so is it an 8th inch, 1/16th inch.....what? Where is the best place to buy tylose in canada? I live in comox valley bc. I love the thought of being able to use my cricut for this, but right now i am totally discouraged. Any info is appreciated...I am so excited about getting back into this. Lastly...what are the best (up to date) books and dvd's I should invest in? I don't have a lot of extra spending money so i am looking for the best bang for my buck.

5 replies
andpotts Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
andpotts Posted 13 Nov 2009 , 11:20am
post #2 of 6

Welcome!! Ok I hope some others can try to answer your questions too, but in the meantime I wanted to hit up the ones I know a little about. I have an Expression too and I have used it to make stancils and stuff in the past, now this new cutting fondan/gumpaste has opened a whole new realm. I finally sucked it up and ordered the DVD that started it all it is pricy, but seems to me it will be worth it to learn exactly how to do this without ruining a very expensive piece of machinery. I can't wait to learn this technique. You can read about it/buy it here:
www.deseretdesigns.com