Can I Pull This Off?

Decorating By jovigirl Updated 12 Nov 2009 , 1:53pm by jovigirl

jovigirl Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jovigirl Posted 12 Nov 2009 , 3:48am
post #1 of 6

My husbands aunt is getting married next june & has asked me if I could make their cake, I do not do this for a living only for hobby, now it looks like she wants a 3 tier cake vanilla cake with fresh flowers. coverered in white BC, now the kicker is the wedding is about a 4 1/2 hour drive...
My questions are if I'm doing 3 tiers to feed 100 people what sizes would I have to do, also do you think I can transport 3 tiers covered in BC for 5hrs with out it melting in the summer?

Thanks for all your help, i'd really like to do this cake, but I'm not too sure I can pull it off.

Thanks again

5 replies
love2makecakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
love2makecakes Posted 12 Nov 2009 , 3:52am
post #2 of 6

Just look on the wilton cake chart or earlenes cake chart to determine the size tiers.

Yes, as long as you have a well supported cake you can make the drive. I have driven about that far before in a hot humid midwest air in August and made it fine. Just kept the ac cranked the whole time. I was freezing, but so was the cake icon_wink.gif

jammjenks Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jammjenks Posted 12 Nov 2009 , 4:01am
post #3 of 6

You can definately do it. A 6/9/12 round serves 100. I would suggest assembling after delivery.

HarleyDee Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HarleyDee Posted 12 Nov 2009 , 4:26am
post #4 of 6

I would second the notion of assembling after delivery too. Much less chance of something happening.

indydebi has a recipe on here for buttercream that she says will stand up to lots of heat! icon_smile.gif

auntiecake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
auntiecake Posted 12 Nov 2009 , 9:26am
post #5 of 6

I agree w/assembling after delivery! Put the support in after you get there, then if it settles your posts will be the right length.