How Do I Make This Cake Without Fondant?

Decorating By kellihope Updated 11 Nov 2009 , 11:15pm by Adevag

kellihope Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
kellihope Posted 11 Nov 2009 , 5:29pm
post #1 of 14

Hello everyone!
My daughter's 1st birthday is coming up and although I have no cake making experience, I really want to make her birthday cake! We are doing a flamingo theme, because we call her "the bird" and I've found some really cute decorations and fell in love with this flamingo cake:

http://i68.photobucket.com/albums/i2/kellihope/AAAADCz7yXUAAAAAAIJEeg.jpg

My problem is, I don't want to use any fondant on the cake, I really dislike the taste/consistency of it and don't feel that the look is worth the taste, if you know what I mean. If there is such thing as fondant that tastes delicious, let me know and that would solve all my problems!

Can anyone think of a way to make this cake without using fondant? I *think* I can draw the head on the top with frosting, so I'm thinking the feathers on the side will be the tough part (correct me if I'm wrong). Here are some thoughts I had, but have no idea if they would work.

- frost with buttercream, then use a tooth pic or something to etch in the feathers on the side.

- my husband suggested instead of doing feathers, just use some kind of frosting tip that will make the cake look "floofy" ??

- possibly making feathers out of sugar? Or I've seen online chocolate melted into plastic spoons then popped out when hardened, maybe I could do something like that, then somehow trim them to look like feathers?

- using pie crust - cut out my parts out of a flat pie crust, baking it, then "glueing" it to the cake with frosting. . .not sure if pie crust on top of cake would be gross??? lol! So then I thought maybe making a cheese cake and putting the pie crust on that, but most cheese cakes have grahm cracker crusts so maybe pie crust would taste weird??

LOL am I clueless or what? Here is the ivitation I am using: