Im Insecure About My Cakes...

Decorating By cookiesnspiders Updated 15 Nov 2009 , 10:13pm by sugarcheryl

cookiesnspiders Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cookiesnspiders Posted 9 Nov 2009 , 3:11am
post #1 of 27

...well sorta.
Im about taste and not looks. I hate the taste of fondant so why would I serve it to people?? What really catches my eye is texture of frosting or cute sprinkles or confetti on cupcakes!!
I made my niece a lovely red velvet Twilight cake but it's not covered in fondant or royal icing and all that jazz. I LOVE how it came out but because its not gonna look like a DISPLAY that belongs on Food Network Im shy to submit it. Im a baker, not a cake decorator. Or if anything, a simple "real" decorator of what "belongs on a cake" (so my grandpa always said about fancy cakes). I was raised with frosting and simplicity and ofcourse actual taste. I just dont see any simple cakes on the winning circles of previous contests.
How do you all feel on how mainstream decorating has been for cakes and not the actual taste of it?[/list]

26 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 9 Nov 2009 , 3:16am
post #2 of 27

What brands of fondant have you tasted? If you have only ever had the Wilton fondant, don't judge all fondants by that!

Also, yes, the buttercream frosted and decorated cake is more traditional for the US, but in England, rolled frostings (marzipan and fondant) and royal icing decorations are traditional.

I think all of the different aspects of sugar art have their place. Don't feel like you have to be Buddy Valestro or Mike McGeery or Bronwen Webber to post your cakes.

And from one "baker not decorator" to another, don't be ashamed of what you are good at. Find your niche, what you rock at doing and be proud of it, but don't be shy of stretching yourself and trying new things, either! icon_biggrin.gif

icer101 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
icer101 Posted 9 Nov 2009 , 3:27am
post #3 of 27