What Is That Crust The Buttercream?

Decorating By miasuzzette Updated 8 Nov 2009 , 7:44am by bettinashoe

miasuzzette Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
miasuzzette Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:06am
post #1 of 15

Hi, Thanks for looking... Curiosity, What is it that crust the Buttercream, Butter or Shortening? Thanks for your post. Have a Good one thumbs_up.gif

14 replies
prterrell Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
prterrell Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:08am
post #2 of 15

Actually, the crust is formed due to the powdered sugar.

miasuzzette Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:11am
post #3 of 15

So, If you don't want a crust. What do you add to your Buttercream mix. I'm still learning.. thumbs_up.gif Thank you... icon_biggrin.gif

bettinashoe Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
bettinashoe Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:18am
post #4 of 15

I believe the "crusting" is from the egg whites or meringue powder. There are a number of recipes which don't have these ingredients in them.

prterrell Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:25am
post #5 of 15

bettinashoe, the egg whites/meringue powder does not cause the crusting, the powdered sugar/fat (butter, shortening or both) recipe will always crust.

miasuzzette, for a non-crusting buttercream, you need to make Italian Meringue Buttercream, Swiss Meringue Buttercream, French Buttercream, or German Buttercream.

miasuzzette Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:43am
post #6 of 15

Prterrell < I want to say Thank you for your information and time. thumbs_up.gif

bettinashoe Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:43am
post #7 of 15

I saw where you indicated that in your post, prterrell and that makes sense. But...the meringue powder always seems to make a crust form. If you underbeat the icing or don't add enough meringue, it doesn't crust so that's what I always though the crust secret was.

prterrell Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 2:49am
post #8 of 15

Well, the Wilton icing has always crusted and they only recently started having the meringue powder in the recipe.