Can I Use A Wooden Rolling Pin With Fondant?

Decorating By herlittleway Updated 8 Nov 2009 , 1:56pm by herlittleway

herlittleway Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
herlittleway Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 12:39am
post #1 of 8

Hi everyone,

Have anyone of you tried using a wooden rolling pin to roll out your fondant? I've never worked with fondant before and am wondering if I should go out and purchase one of those plastic, non-stick types. I already have a wooden pin in my kitchen, can I just use that?

Thank you!
Rebekah

7 replies
mrsc808 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
mrsc808 Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 12:43am
post #2 of 8

I have a small rolling pin that I use for small pieces of fondant but I use a wooden one for big pieces.

Caths_Cakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Caths_Cakes Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 12:52am
post #3 of 8

ive used both icon_smile.gif i find the wooden one can leave imprints if it has any imperfections in it though icon_smile.gif

Elise87 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Elise87 Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:07am
post #4 of 8

yeh as long as you have a nice smooth one it's perfectly fine, i have been using a wooden one on my fondants for a while now icon_smile.gif

calynmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
calynmom Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:23am
post #5 of 8

Make sure it's smooth all the way around and that it is wide enough for the size of fondant you are using.

PinkLisa Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
PinkLisa Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 1:30am
post #6 of 8

I don't like my old wooden rolling pin on fondant. It makes woodgrain impressions (unless you're going for that look -- ha ha).

grandmom Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
grandmom Posted 8 Nov 2009 , 10:24am
post #7 of 8

I have a big ol' collection of rolling pins, and I use my wooden rolling pin on fondant a lot. Which pin I use is usually determined by the size I'll be rolling out.