Non-Toxic Chalk, Can It Be Used?

Decorating By CakesHeaven Updated 10 Nov 2009 , 8:48pm by CakesHeaven

CakesHeaven Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 3:46pm
post #1 of 43

I am just learning how to make gumpaste flowers and was told that you can use non-toxic chalk to color them, is that really safe? icon_confused.gif I want to make sure before I go buy some and use it, don't want to make anyone sick. What happens if someone does eat it or do you tell your customer that they are non-edible and trust that they listen? Thank you in advance for you help.

42 replies
Texas_Rose Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 5:27pm
post #2 of 43

Personally, once a wire goes into a piece of gumpaste, that piece of gumpaste is no longer edible. I use the nontoxic chalks...you can buy a box of 48 colors at Hobby Lobby for $5. Just steam the flowers to set the chalk once it's on.

I use crayola markers on non edible pieces too.

redheadfairy2003 Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 6:00pm
post #3 of 43

I saw someone a video with someone doing gum paste flowers and with non-toxic chalk . I bought some to try.It won't hurt you if you did eat it but I think Kit Kat Cakes is correct by saying who would want to eat them with a wire in it. I think that it would be a great money saver to use also . I can't wait to try.

kellertur Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 7:48pm
post #4 of 43

Is there a trick to this? I used some (sidewalk) chalk dust and it wouldn't show up on the flower, very weak color. What step am I missing?

Thank you.

Texas_Rose Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 9:09pm
post #5 of 43
Quote:
Originally Posted by kellertur

Is there a trick to this? I used some (sidewalk) chalk dust and it wouldn't show up on the flower, very weak color. What step am I missing?

Thank you.

You need to use artists chalk. It has a lot more pigment in it than sidewalk chalk.

tatorchip Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 9:11pm
post #6 of 43
Quote:

Thank you.

I was wondering the same thing

icer101 Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 9:18pm
post #7 of 43