Newbie Stacked Cake Questions

Decorating By scociny Updated 7 Nov 2009 , 4:03pm by FromScratch

scociny Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 3:37pm
post #1 of 3

I have been asked to do a cake for an induction ceremony at my husbands work. I am a newbie to cake decorating and I have only made single layer sheet cakes. I want to do a 12x18x2 cake and will be putting an 8.5" round cake on top. I will be using a crusting buttercream to cover it.

I want to do both layers in chocolate but need a good recipe, would the hersheys chocolate cake hold the round cake on top?

Can I use straws for support under the round cake?

Do I put a cake board under the round cake? If I do put a board under the cake, do you take the round cake off of the rectangle one to cut it?

Sorry for all of the questions, I have never done a stacked cake before! Thanks in advance to all of you who respond.

2 replies
dstbni Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 4:02pm
post #2 of 3

If you use straws to support the top layer, you should use a cake board. The Hershey's cake recipe is pretty dense, so it should be enough to be suppportive. If it's just a single round on a single layer sheet cake, that's like a regular layer cake, so with the recipe you're considering you shouldn't really need the supports. For ease of serving, however, you might want to put a cake board (fully wrapped) under the top layer to they can separate the layers before they cut. Hope that helps.

FromScratch Posted 7 Nov 2009 , 4:03pm
post #3 of 3