Small Cake With Weird Combo

Decorating By MammaG Updated 10 Nov 2009 , 8:05pm by colombean

MammaG Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 2:24pm
post #1 of 10

i know this is a weird request, but it's actually my own. I'm wanting to make a cake for someone next month that is a smaller cake (maybe 8in) and somehow incorporate Disney, Aggies and doctor because those are all his favorite things. I don't know that there's a way to do it, though, on such a small cake. Any ideas? I'm a newbie, so I can't get too wild yet LOL

9 replies
emrldsky Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 2:36pm
post #2 of 10

Have you worked with fondant before? You can easily make a stethoscope to represent the doctor with fondant. Also, Aggies as in Texas A & M? Football or another sport? You can try to make a fondant ball for whichever sport.

Disney is tricky though. Does his name begin with a D? lol You can try to find the Disney font and write his name that way. *shrug*

Good luck!

Texas_Rose Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 2:46pm
post #3 of 10

I think it can be done, especially if it's a nice tall cake...a 4" tall cake gives you lots of room to play with on the sides.

I would do the A&M logo on the side of the cake at the front, then a caduceus on one side of that and a doctor's bag on the other. Then download a Disney font and write your message (assuming it's a birthday cake) in it, print it out and trace it on the cake, then pipe over it, or put a piece of waxed paper over it and pipe royal icing on it, let harden and stick it on the cake.

Here is a disney font:

For the logo and the caduceus and maybe a couple of disney logos, you could have an edible image printed...some people have said that Walmart will print edible images for $6 a sheet...then just put the different things on that way.

It would be a really busy cake but since you and the person you're making it for would know the meaning of all of it, it would be pretty neat.