Lego Batman Critique Please

Decorating By crbarb35 Updated 28 Dec 2012 , 5:58pm by Cherry1313

crbarb35 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
crbarb35 Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 6:56pm
post #1 of 10

I am a novice and I mean novice cake decorator, I have been doing this for about 2 months with NO training whatsoever. My wife made the actual cake and I made all of the fondant pieces, as she hates fondant.

I made the legos and batman out of RKT's and covered them with fondant. I can't seem to get the fondant smooth over the RKT's.

Please leave your comments and suggestions!

Thank you,

Chris
LL

9 replies
cupcakemkr Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cupcakemkr Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 7:22pm
post #2 of 10

Great Start!

Tips:
To get RKT smooth crush the cereal into smaller particals
Roll the fondant thicker or do 2 layers or coat the cereal treats in a setting gnache or royal icing or use chocolate clay instead of fondant

Hopefully others that use RKT more frequently than I can add some tips as well

cylstrial Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
cylstrial Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 8:58pm
post #3 of 10

I think your cake looks awesome!

I put a layer of buttercream all over the RKT and then cover in fondant.

crbarb35 Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 4:00pm
post #4 of 10

Thank you both!! I never thought about crushing the RKT's. I will also try rolling the fondant out thicker, then if that is not satisfactory I will try icing them first and then covering them! Thanks again.

terrijproductions Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
terrijproductions Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 5:18pm
post #5 of 10

I haven't tried this, but I'm told that chocolate is the best option for getting rid of the RK bumps because it fills in the cracks and makes a very smooth layer under the fondat. I've used buttercream under the fondant and had decent results.

KristyCakes Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
KristyCakes Posted 5 Nov 2009 , 8:10pm
post #6 of 10