Wedding Consultations

Business By sugarandslice Updated 23 Nov 2009 , 7:23am by Bluehue

sugarandslice Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
sugarandslice Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 1:50am
post #1 of 19

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice.
I've got my first ever wedding cake consultation booked tomorrow evening and I need to know what to take with me. They don't want to taste any samples because they already know that they want choc mud cake.
So what else should I take with me? I've never done a wedding cake before (and they know that) so I can't take past cake photos with me.
I don't want to turn up empty handed and look really unprofessional.
icon_redface.gificon_sad.gif

18 replies
HamSquad Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
HamSquad Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:18am
post #2 of 19

The pictures of your cakes and cupcake are absolutely beautiful. I have done some wedding consultations. Just a suggestion, take some of your photos for ideas of the things you know you can do. Listen to them as to what they are looking for. Have a sketch pad and pencil. The sketch you draw for them don't have to be a masterpiece, but it eill help you and them to visualize an ideal. Don't forget to ask if they want just a stacked cake or anything with a tier set. These items are additional cost. I also had one or two current bride magazines that had a few cakes. I've learn don't overwhelmed them with too many pictures. I hope they say to you "Just do your thing, what ever you come up with"! HTH
Hammy

sugarandslice Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:33am
post #3 of 19

Thanks Hammy. I do have a few wedding cake magazines that I'll take with me. I've also printed off some of doug's templates to help with sketching.
Can anyone think of anything else?

jenmat Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jenmat Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 3:13am
post #4 of 19

things to bring:
Calculator
Serving Chart
Price List
Contract
pencil and pen
sketchbook
business cards
Folder to give them with copies of all info