Help With Diamond Impression Mat

Decorating By jayla Updated 8 Nov 2009 , 2:56pm by ninatat

jayla Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
jayla Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 9:25am
post #1 of 8

Help Please!!!!
Everytime I use the diamond impression mat, it sticks to my cake. My imprint looks aweful. Also the mats has gotten gummed up a little. They are very hard to clean. Any tips to keep it from sticky to icing? I thought about adding more sugar to my bc.

The cake is bc not fondant. I have to use it on a wedding cake coming up soon. Also what should I use for the pearls?

Thanks

jayla

7 replies
lchris Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
lchris Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 12:08pm
post #2 of 8

I'm no expert, but I've used it a few times.

Put some cornstarch in a new clean knee-hi, icon_rolleyes.gif , and pounce that on the mat. After using, wipe with paper towel, then pounce again.

I've never had mine stick, so I hope that helps!!

Molly2 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
Molly2 Posted 3 Nov 2009 , 12:31pm
post #3 of 8

I use mine on butter cream, I sprinkle mine with powder suger and sometimes I rub mine very lightly with crisco (very lightly) and use the powder sugar
I fill my sink with soapy hot water and let my mat sit wash then rinse

Molly

j_arney Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
j_arney Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:20pm
post #4 of 8

The pearls can be purchased from cake specialty stores. I got mine from GlobalSugarArt.com, but I've also seen them in a local specialty shop here in VA. I don't believe Michael's or ACMoore carries them.

http://www.globalsugarart.com/product.php?id=18524&name=White%20Dragees-4MM#

milkmaid42 Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
milkmaid42 Posted 4 Nov 2009 , 2:41pm
post #5 of 8