My Scientific Cc Dome Test (Sorta) Lots Of Pics-

Baking By JustToEatCake Updated 13 Nov 2009 , 4:25am by mom2twogrlz

JustToEatCake Cake Central Cake Decorator Profile
JustToEatCake Posted 2 Nov 2009 , 4:17am
post #1 of 16

CLICK THUMBNAILS TO ENLARGE
I decided to do a sorta scientific cupcake study (in my tiny apartment kitchen) in anticipation of a cupcake situation I'll be having in the near future (December) and share my results with you all. I took lots of pictures so it make take a second to load. For the record I am NOT a professional (I'm sure you can tell). I aspire to the hobby not the profession.

First I used kakeladi's WASC recipe. I made it exactly by the recipe except I used milk instead of water and no almond flavor, just butter and vanilla (we don't like almond). Store bought paper and foil cups, ice cream scook (the bomb) to put batter into cups.

*Just a hint, I have one of those Command removable clips stuck to the inside of my upper cabinet door that I just leave open when cooking and I can see the recipe at eye level.(Click on thumbnails for larger pictures)
In the same pans I put 2/3 cups full paper and foil cups, 3/4 cups full paper and foil cups. I want to see if there IS a difference.

I was testing:
Pan type: aluminum, non stick, silicone, size of cups in the CC pans
Image[/img]

Cup cake liners: Paper or foil
Batter Fill: 2/3 vs 3/4
Cook time

All this in trying to acquire a nice dome on a nice cupcake.

First the aluminum pan is a old well loved"Sears Best Bridesmaid" cupcake pan. It's pretty heavy. The second is just a simple non stick, garden variety cupcake pan. You can see the CC liners stand up above the aluminum pan but not the non stick one and the slicone one is very deep. The aluminum CC pans are the exact same size cup as Wiltons. The bottom on the aluminum pan measures 2 inches on the nose but the non stick is about 2 1/8.
ImageImage
Aluminum Measures approx 7/8th of an inch non stick approx 1 1/8th
ImageImage